What I learned in my phlebotomy class:

  • How to answer the phone
  • How to wash my hands
  • “Phlebotomy” also includes urine and stool samples (damn)
  • Blood can be collected in tons of pretty tubes
  • The practice dummies are NOTHING like the real thing (especially the urine and stool samples)
  • Allow someone to stick you 6 times in one class and you will indeed look like a junkie
  • Oh, and how to draw blood.

Today is the final exam for my class and I am thrilled! I should be studying, but as is traditional for me I’m going to cram and freak out at the last minute and all will be fine. I completed the 25 in-class sticks (or times jabbing someone with a needle and successfully getting blood in a tube) and will be starting my externship week after next. Until then-

VACATION! I’m headed out of town and stopping to see family on the way, making my final destination Florida with more family. I’ll be in the middle of no-where, but that is not too far from Panama City so I’m definitely sneaking off to the beach! I’m also hoping to get into a little bit of trouble while I’m down there ; ) Can’t help but sneek in some naughty fun where ever I go.

(Just in case: there are no actual dummies for practicing the collection of urine and stool samples. It was a joke.)

Edit: Turns out it pays to check the weather BEFORE you make plans. Flood warnings/ potential tornados all through the pan-handle most of the time I’m planning on being gone. *Le sigh* Looks like the beach will have to happen another time, but I’m not about to let some weather kill my vacation! : D

About perpetualmorphosis

Such a tiny box to try and fit myself into! To really learn about me read my blog and website. Or better yet email me, and then we can get to know each other.
This entry was posted in School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

